My Story

West Wittering Beach, United Kingdom – June 2021

Welcome to The Real Passive Income. My little internet corner where I will be talking about my experience in the financial industry, as well as giving you tips, tricks, and insights into the amazing world of economic independence through passive income. 

This first post is all about letting you in on my story, my financial background, and why I decided to start generating passive income and sharing my experience. Kind of a get-to-know-me post to start things off. 

My name is Antonio Alvarado and I am 39 years old. I was born in the beautiful city of Madrid in 1982. When I was only 3 years old, I moved to Andorra, the little but lovely country between France and Spain, in the middle of the Pyrenees. My parents were both primary school teachers and got transferred for a six-year assignment in a Spanish school over there. Growing up in Andorra was amazing, I absolutely love mountains and skiing, so it was an incredible experience for me. 

I went back to Madrid when I was 9, and spent the rest of my childhood in a town called Collado Villalba, around 25 miles away from Madrid centre. It’s a very nice and quiet area and definitely worthy of a visit if you are ever in Spain. 

I finished secondary school in June 2000 and went straight to uni. I studied Business & Economics at Universidad Complutense de Madrid. During this period I was part of the ERASMUS Programme which allows you to move to other European countries to study, so I had the opportunity to live and study for a full year in Nice (France) at Institut Universitaire de Nice-Cote d’Azur during 2002-2003. 

In 2005 I took a small break from my studies, and I spent 6 months in London to learn and improve my English. This was an amazing experience for me and little did I know, but during this trip, I met an amazing girl who would later become my wife. 

After this very fulfilling trip, I moved back to Madrid and started working for IBM. This was my first job in the financial industry. It was only an internship, but it was my first step on the corporate ladder, it gave me a taste of adulthood and the responsibilities of a qualified job for which I was working very hard to prepare.

In 2007 I moved to Mazars, where I worked as an external auditor for four years. I worked hard, but all that hard work and effort paid off. I learnt a lot and made very good colleagues that I still consider my friends. During this time, I did a Master’s Degree in Audit and Accounting at Universidad CEU San Pablo. These four years were some of my best years, I grew a lot professionally and got married to that amazing girl I met in London. 

As special as these four years were for me and how rich they were, I also wanted to explore other professional areas, so I moved to Ernst & Young, where I focused more on financial services within the Transaction Support department. I got involved in different projects such as due diligence, mergers, and restructuring plans. Being part of one of The Big 4 accounting firms was a privilege, and I am glad I had this opportunity.

In 2014 I moved to the United Kingdom, where my wife (also a financial geek like me) got a very attractive role based in London. During this time I had the opportunity to work for different companies in various roles such as Internal Auditor & Internal Control at Hasbro. I also worked at Johnson & Johnson, and Tradebe Environmental Services. In later posts, I will go a bit further in detail about the roles I had in these companies and how they impacted my professional life, and my decision to start my journey with passive income. 

During my time in the UK, the massive world-changing event that is COVID happened. I can count myself incredibly lucky as I haven’t lost any family or friends due to this terrible virus, but it still has been quite a challenging time for me, and for us as a family. It has also provided me with a different perspective on life and has tested my thoughts on what is really important for me. This is when my wife and I decided that it would be best for me to step aside, and stop working full time. It just wasn’t sustainable for us nor fair to our kids to keep working as normal, pretending that nothing happened… when in  fact, everything had changed.

This decision was a massive leap into the unknown. The first few months were tough, taking into account that we were in full lockdown during a few months in the UK, which included school closures. 

Nevertheless, aside from all the craziness that we have all been living in, I am happy to say that the main goals I had one year ago, are becoming real:

  • I found a part-time job within the Frassati Academy Trust, as Finance Manager for one of the Schools under the Academy Trust umbrella. Even though I am incredibly grateful for all the professional opportunities I’ve had during the last 14 years it is safe to say that I’ve never felt so useful to the community I belong to. It is a great pleasure being able to work with all the incredible professionals that do some of the most important jobs in society: educate our kids. 
  • I am also dedicating more time to my family. Now I can drop off and pick up my kids from school as well as have quality time with them every afternoon. For me, finding a job that allowed me to do these things was non-negotiable and I am incredibly happy that I have achieved this.  
  • Lastly, I wanted to explore new professional horizons, away from the world of multinational companies, combined with proper research on how to get some stable passive income. And this, my friends, is how TheRealPassiveIncome.com was born.

So, as you can see, I’ve started a new way of living and I hope you want to be part of this journey with me. I believe we are going to have fun and learn a lot in this process. 

In the next post I will be talking about the meaning of passive income and how to get started. Make sure to subscribe to my newsletter so you don’t miss it.

Thanks for reading!

Antonio – 07 March 2022

%d bloggers like this: